My love/hate relationship with nail polish and all things relating to fancy nails

I love getting my nails did. I love painting my nails. But I don’t like the price tag of having them did or how easily the polish wears off. Barn stuff wears hard on the polish. And getting the acrylics is easily the cost of a bag of feed. And having 2 hard keepers makes the decision easy, albeit unhappy. I say unhappy. I love my horses and having them and taking care of them. But it would just be nice if I could keep up the acrylics. Using polish is nearly a joke. After about 3 days it’s wearing or chipping off. No matter what I use. And because it wears off that easily I’m not going with anything super expensive. Because I’ve read reviews and am relatively certain that it’ll be as bad or worse for me. So what’s a girl to do? Grin and bear it and use nail polish anyway.

I have found that Sally Hansen’s gel top coat seems to work pretty well with whatever base coat you want. I also found Nail Aid no light gel top coat works pretty well too. Both dry amazingly fast, under a minute and cure pretty hard in a relatively short time as well. In fact as they are curing they seem to harden faster than others that dry fairly quickly but seem to take a little longer to cure. Considering both are in black or black coated bottles, maybe that’s why? Regardless, I like them the best…..not expensive and work well. Well actually my favorite is the acrylics. And to those who think “gel” is different from acrylic, I’m sorry, but it’s not what you think. The gel you might be thinking about is either the gel manicure or the “pink and white gel”  that is acrylic but on a molecular level and is still acrylic.  People ask for the gel manicure or the gel acrylics. Be careful what you’re asking for. I love my acrylics. They last a long time….even with a piece of horse hair splitting it. I don’t recommend leaving it that way as that encourages bacteria growth and whatnot, but I only left it for a very short time period before removing it and having it redone. I think it was  less than 2 days. Be smart. If anything infiltrates that barrier, you need to go have it fixed.

Leave a Reply

